Tmi.me – Terms of Service

I was using my twitter feed today with Echofon on my Android device. Not a bad little app I use when my iPhone is charging. I was looking through the settings and found a section where you extended the length of your tweet, but you had to use a 3rd party app. I had a look at the app. Then I read through the Terms of Service. Lets just say I was extremely flabbergasted, that anyone would agree to this license especially this section of the terms of Terms of Service. Effectively taking away all your privacy and Intellectual Property rights.

‘You acknowledge and agree that if you use any of the Services to contribute Content to the Site or Services (“User Content”), you hereby do and shall grant UberMedia a non-exclusive, worldwide, royalty-free, transferable, sublicensable right to use, modify, reproduce, distribute, prepare derivative works of, display, publish, perform and otherwise fully exploit such User Content (including all related intellectual property rights) in any media format and through any media channel and to allow others to do so. To the extent allowed by law, the foregoing includes all rights of paternity, integrity, disclosure and withdrawal and any other rights that may be known as or referred to as “Moral Rights.” To the extent you retain any such Moral Rights under applicable law, you hereby ratify and consent to any action that may be taken with respect to such moral rights by UberMedia and agree not to assert any Moral Rights with respect thereto.’

All I can say HOLY CRAP! Are you kidding me!? Seriously? you want me to give away my rights to my content that has my copyright, intellectual property rights & moral rights. You want to just ignore these, so you can enjoy not paying any royalties or license fees? NO WAY MISTER/SISTER! Not going to happen.

So if you do happen to use this service http://tmi.me also known as UberSocial, I suggest you read the TOS and remove your content. Remove the app from your Android, Blackberry & iPhone devices.
This crew need to learn that our content, is exactly that it’s your content. They need to ask for permission not demand it in the TOS.