Do Not Track

So here I was going through my browsers security & privacy settings, when I saw something catch my eye, it said “Do Not Track“.

I thought this is brilliant, this means I’ll no longer be tracked by sites online. However even Google state the following:

Does Chrome provide details of which websites and web services respect Do Not Track requests and how they interpret them?

No. At this time, most web services, including Google’s, do not alter their behavior or change their services upon receiving Do Not Track requests. (Updated October 2012). Learn more about Chrome’s other privacy and security features

So it just goes to show, no matter if you have DNT requests enabled. It depends on the other party to action that request. Another words you have 2 choices of not being tracked. Buckleys & None.