Enabling Windows 7 to Connect to Mac OS X

Ladies & Gentlemen, Boy & Girls, Tech Geeks.

It seems I learned something new today, as I took possession of new computer running Windows 7 Professional (64 Bit). I was trying to connect to my Mac OS X machine and map drives. I could contact my Windows machine without problems from Mac OS X. I could not say the same for Windows 7 to Mac OS X. I’d already setup file sharing on the Mac and I had enabled file sharing via user account control not homegroup but still I wasn’t able to connect. I could see the File Servers but not the shares.

Then I did a google search and found the following page which saved me!
http://www.techrepublic.com/article/how-do-i-connect-windows-vista-to-a-macintosh-network/6174105

On this page about a little over half way I found the golden nugget I was looking for.
From within Windows 7, I followed these steps and I was finally able to connect my NEW Windows 7 machine to my
Mac OS X and map my drives

  1. Click Start.
  2. Type secpol.msc in the search box and press Enter.
  3. Windows 7 will display a warning message; click Continue.
  4. Windows 7’s Local Security Policy console will appear. Highlight Local Policies.
  5. Double-click Security Options.
  6. Scroll down to the Network Security: LAN Manager Authentication Level policy entry and double-click it.
  7. Change the value from the default setting of Send NTLMv2 Response Only to Send LM & NTLM — Use NTLMv2 Session Security If Negotiated, then click OK. (Figure J).
  8. Close the Local Security Policy console.

thank you techrepublic for making my life just that little bit easier. I substituted Vista with 7.